The bridge over the Murray River. The bridge as designed to lift the centre section so that tall shipping traffic could pass through.The bridge was originally put in place in 1896, replacing the punts used to cross the river.
The Swan Hill Pioneer Settlement is a museum and theme park depicting life as it was in the Swan Hill region in the 19th century. The settlement shows buildings, shops and even a school as it was in the late 1880s and vehicles and equipment from the time period.
The paddle steamer, Pyap, cruising along the Murray at Swan Hill, just as she has done for over 100 years. Originally built as a barge, she was converted to a paddle steamer in 1898 and plied the waters selling goods at the townships she would visit. Now a tourist steamer operating from the Pioneer Park.
The Gem paddle steamer
The paddle steamer of Francis Caddell, ‘Lady Augusta’, first made the journey from the mouth of the Murray River arriving at Swan Hill in 1853. This journey proved the viability of river traffic to and from the town which became a mainstay of transport of both persons and commerce for the next 80 years. A port developed due to this fact and that Swan Hill was the only crossing of the Murray for a 100kms.