Home / Places To Go / Tasmania / Tasmanian Wilderness

Tasmanian Wilderness

Covering an area of around 1.6 million hectares, the Tasmanian Wilderness was proclaimed as a World Heritage listed region in 1982 and extended in area four times, the last being in 2013. The region generally covers from the Cradle Mountain and Lake St Clair National Park in the north right down to the Southwest National Park and the southern tip of Tasmania.

For many the first entry to the region is via Cradle Mountain or via Queenstown and the West Coast Wilderness Railway to Strahan.

Nelson Falls

  • by admin

Franklin Gordon National Park cascading waterfall Located within the Tasmanian Wilderness, Franklin Gordon National Park, the Nelson Falls are where… Read More »Nelson Falls


  • by admin

Strahan is a small resort village that sits in Risby Cove, a part of the spectacular Macquarie Harbour and is… Read More »Strahan