Home / Places To Go / New South Wales / Murray and Riverina

Murray and Riverina

Moving westward from the Kosciuszko National Park and the Snowy Mountains, the mountain foothills meet the rich ancient volcanic plains of the Riverina. This area is defined by two rivers, the Murrumbidgee and the Murray, both of which originate in the Kosciuszko National Park and provide much of the irrigation for the towns, cities and agriculture along their course. After leaving the national park, the Murray River provides the boundary between New South Wales and Victoria and is joined by the Murrumbidgee before passing through the Mildura district and into South Australia.

The Riverina is one of Australia’s food bowls, famous for its citrus and wine production. West are a series of river towns, some with their twin townships on either side of the Murray and often having their origins in the river trade in the days of the paddle steamers.To the north and above this small band of cities and towns hugging the Murray is the New South Wales outback.


  • by

Albury remains a major crossing point of the river Murray With its twin city of Wodonga on the Victorian side,… Read More »Albury


  • by

East of Mildura along the Murray River and where that river meets the Darling, Wentworth has a heritage of being an important… Read More »Wentworth


  • by

Popular for water sports, sharing a lake with Yarrawonga. The twin towns of Yarrawonga, Victorian side and Mulwala, New South Wales… Read More »Mulwala


  • by

To the north of the Blowering Reservoir and at the edge of the Riverina plains, Tumut is surrounded by beautiful mountain scenery… Read More »Tumut


  • by

On the edge of the Riverina region, the quaint township of Tumbarumbah, ‘The gem of the Highlands,’ is an ideal… Read More »Tumbarumba

Lake Hume

  • by

Lake Hume is the 20,000 hectare lake formed by the damming of the Murray River, 18 kilometers due east of… Read More »Lake Hume